Rainbow Flower of Life Tarot Cloth Sacred Geometry with a French Feel

Rainbow Flower of Life Tarot Cloth Sacred Geometry with a French Feel

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out

This is a 20 inch by 20 inch hemmed, professionally-printed cotton cloth printed in rainbow colors with the flower of life drawing.  Around the mandala is a circle of fleur de lis scrolls.  The background looks like a sponge painted wall.  

This sacred geometry flower mandala is perfect for reading cards as a tarot cloth, as an altar cloth, rainbow cloth or chakra cloth.  

The Flower of Life is an example of sacred geometric designs.  Essentially, it is comprised of same size circles that overlap each other so that each side of the circle dived by the overlapping circle is the same radius.  There are different kinds of geometric flower sacred patterns.  Some form a bowed triangle in the center of where the circles overlap.  

A Flower of Life pattern decoration with seven or 19 overlapping circles shows up in numerous artifacts from the 6th or 7th century BCE forward in Roman art, Islamic art and in Gothic art.  The oldest example is on display in the Louvre in Paris.  It is from the threshold of a palace that belonged to the King of Assyria. 

The design wasn't known as the Flower of Life though until our more recent New Age and now shows up on metaphysical objects, spiritual art, meditation mandalas, quilts, architecture, clothing, furnishings, tile, jewelry and tattoos.  There is an Alpine folk art design that is the same thing known as the Sun of the Alps.  Later, the English used the symbol on their buildings to keep witches out.  Leonardo da Vinci, fascinated by sacred geometry symbols, wrote about the 7 overlapping circle design at great length.

Islamic art uses grids of overlapping circles for for the design of stars and hexagons.  It is called a girih.  The final art looks more like interwoven strips or straps than overlapping circles.  

Kids seem to be naturally draw to sacred geometry patterns and I've noticed that they really like this rainbow chakra or chakra rainbow design.  

What are chakras?  

The word chakra means wheel in Sanskrit.  Sanskrit is an ancient Indian language.  The psyche or causal plane is different from the physical body while being energetically connected and interactive with the it along with the astral plane.  There are numerous connections, but there are seven chakra connections from the base of the spine to the top of the head that are the primary points of interaction.  The energy exchanges causes them to rotate or spin like wheels, which is why they were named chakras. 

Here is a list of the seven chakras with their correlative locations, colors, elements and functions. 

1st Chakra aka Root Chakra is located at the tailbone.  Its color is red and its element is earth.  It is about survival, connection to the earth, safety and instinctual behavior.

2nd Chakra aka Sacral Plexus Chakra is located along the spine between the pubic bone and the belly button.  Its color is orange and its element is water.  It is about sex, joy, creativity, reproduction, identity, self-esteem and enjoying the sweetness of life. 

3rd Chakra aka Solar Plexus Chakra is located along the spine above the stomach.  Some say it is aligned with the navel.  Its color is yellow and its element is fire.  It is about ego, will, closely-held desires, nourishment (digestion), impulse and control.

4th Chakra aka Heart Chakra is located along the spine at the level of the heart.  Its color is green and its element is air.  It is about acceptance, love, compassion and spirituality. 

5th Chakra aka Throat Chakra is located along the spine at the level of the base of the throat where the thyroid is.  Its color is blue and its element is gas or etheric.  It is about communication and clairaudience.  

6th Chakra aka Third Eye Chakra is located between the brows.  Its color is indigo blue and its element is light.  It is about understanding, imagination, rational thought and clairvoyance. 

7th Chakra aka Crown Chakra or Thousand Petaled Lotus Blossom is located at the top of the head.  Its color is iridescent lavender and its element is light and ether.  It is about the connection to Divine Source.  

We also offer Flower of Life designs on tarot clothsbatiks and bannersmugsgift cardsgift tags, a silver plated pewter medallion and a copper medallion.